Different flowers. Same garden.

A blog between sisters.

College Tip#1 July 14, 2010

Filed under: College Tips — Keri Kae @ 1:20 pm

Dearest Monster,

I know you registered for classes back at orientation in June, but I thought it wise to share with you a piece of advice that mom shared with me when I was a freshman: Take at least one early class freshman year.

I can’t tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed my 8am writing-intensive class on intellectual property and public culture, but I will say that I was grateful for the built-in discipline check.  If I had it my way, I probably would have become nocturnal like my roommate who slept between the hours of 6 and 8am, 11am and 2pm, 3 and 5pm each day.  For some reason, kids going off to college like to hang out all night long–talking, drinking, working in the library (okay, yeah not really…)–and it really takes a toll on you!  Do yourself a favor and give yourself an excuse, nay, a reason to go to bed at a somewhat reasonable hour.

I love you,

Munchkin

p.s. — Here’s a little Wednesday fun for you from one of my favorite blogs, Hyperbole and a HalfThis is Why I’ll Never be an Adult.  Enjoy life, but don’t stay up all night!

 

One Response to “College Tip#1”

  1. cashen523 Says:

    Good advice 🙂
    My earliest class right now is a 9:25 Intro to Anthropology class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but that might change. I have to drop and add classes now.
    I don’t really plan on becoming too much of a night owl, but I sort of am already; I tend to think better at night. But I also don’t like sleeping til noon….


Leave a Reply

